Farewell

Jane Andreas JaneAndreas at gmx.com
Tue Jun 14 15:49:36 EDT 2011

Hello everyone for a last time,

Recently, and from the beginning, I have felt that I may not be very useful on this list. Many months later, I am rather sure of it. Despite my demands and visions, I have little power to enforce or inact them, so ended up frustrated. 
In addition, since I found out about the Nanonote from the Jlime website, I imagined it would have similar capabilities to the HP Jornadas, in particular the J72X series. I have come to learn that it is not yet near even the Jornada 690's capabilities, since even that 10+ year old handheld has a crude web browser. What little software it has is well integrated, and one can find it all easily by doing a little poking around. 
I do think I have some potintially positive recommendations for the next nanonote, if it gets produced. I do realize however, that for one thing I am no engineer (I am somewhat thankful most of the time for this) and also I realize that these will be mere suggestions, not necessarily to be listenend to as if I am the project manager. That being said...

We should aim for at LEAST a VGA (640x480) screen on the Ya. The Pandora has a 4.3" 800x480 screen, so I know there should be something out there...so many of my (and your) problems probably hinge on that QVGA screen being more restrictive than other system components.

Work out the keyboard issues. Since the Nanonote is international, we should not assume that everyone who gets a Ben or Ya speaks English or even uses qwerty. Either we make one option everyone is happy with, or we make the Ya keyboard rearrangeable. 

Include pointing device on Ya and work on soft-mouse for Ben. If anyone can do it, OpenSource guys should be able to...what happened to the whole Linux gospel?

Include mainstream networking solution. If theres no ethernet, then wifi, provided there are no legal problems.